[Active Spam - GGL Filter] [Full-disclosure] AW: Security iss ue in Microsoft Outlook

Richards, Jim jim.richards at dot.state.wi.us
Thu May 19 16:50:53 BST 2005


I can't get it to work in Outlook 2000 either.

-----Original Message-----
From: irfan.syed at guoco.com [mailto:irfan.syed at guoco.com]
Sent: Thursday, May 19, 2005 5:17 AM
To: bugtraq at securityfocus.com; full-disclosure at lists.grok.org.uk
Subject: RE: [Active Spam - GGL Filter] [Full-disclosure] AW: Security
issue in Microsoft Outlook


Neither me. I am using Outlook XP with latest patches.

-----Original Message-----
From: full-disclosure-bounces at lists.grok.org.uk
[mailto:full-disclosure-bounces at lists.grok.org.uk] On Behalf Of Stein,
Wilhelm Michael
Sent: Thursday, May 19, 2005 5:11 PM
To: Bakchodiya; bugtraq at securityfocus.com
Cc: full-disclosure at lists.grok.org.uk
Subject: [Active Spam - GGL Filter] [Full-disclosure] AW: Security issue
in Microsoft Outlook


Hi,

I cannot reproduce this using Outlook 2003. I tried it in several ways
(overwriting, inserting and deleting). The link always leads to the site
which is shown as link.

Regards,

Wilhelm Stein

Data Protection and IT Security
Detecon International GmbH
Oberkasseler Str. 2 
53227 Bonn · Germany

Phone: (+49 228) 700 - 11 01 
Fax: (+49 228) 700 - 49 52
mailto:Wilhelm.Stein at detecon.com
http://www.detecon.com



-----Ursprüngliche Nachricht-----
Von: Bakchodiya [mailto:bakchodiya at yahoo.com] 
Gesendet: Mittwoch, 18. Mai 2005 22:28
An: bugtraq at securityfocus.com
Cc: full-disclosure at lists.grok.org.uk
Betreff: Security issue in Microsoft Outlook

An issue has been discovered in MS Outlook (All
Versions) where anyone can fake a URL & send it across.

How does it work:

Lets compose an email in MS Outlook, lets type


http://www.cybertrion.com & put a space after it to make it a link. Now
put your cursor just before cybertrion & type any URL for eg: 
http://www.foo-labs.info now send it to anyone. The receiver will see the
URL as http://www.foo-labs.info but when he clicks on it it will directly
take him to http://www.cybertrion.com

I am not sure how critical this is but it can fool alot of people & result
in download of a virus.

For more details and Discovered by:
Cybertrion Systems,
http://www.cybertrion.com


		
__________________________________
Do you Yahoo!? 
Yahoo! Mail - Find what you need with new enhanced search. 
http://info.mail.yahoo.com/mail_250
_______________________________________________
Full-Disclosure - We believe in it.
Charter: http://lists.grok.org.uk/full-disclosure-charter.html
Hosted and sponsored by Secunia - http://secunia.com/
_______________________________________________
Full-Disclosure - We believe in it.
Charter: http://lists.grok.org.uk/full-disclosure-charter.html
Hosted and sponsored by Secunia - http://secunia.com/



Full-Disclosure is hosted and sponsored by Secunia.