<!DOCTYPE HTML PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD HTML 4.0 Transitional//EN">
<HTML><HEAD>
<META HTTP-EQUIV="Content-Type" CONTENT="text/html; charset=iso-8859-1">


<META content="MSHTML 6.00.2800.1226" name=GENERATOR>
<STYLE></STYLE>
</HEAD>
<BODY bgColor=#ffffff>
<DIV><SPAN class=422335900-02102003><FONT face=Arial color=#0000ff size=2>This 
is old news. This was on slashdot over a month ago.</FONT></SPAN></DIV>
<DIV>&nbsp;</DIV>
<P><FONT size=2>Joshua Thomas<BR>Network Operations Engineer<BR>PowerOne Media, 
Inc.<BR>tel: 518-687-6143<BR>jthomas@poweronemedia.com </FONT></P>
<BLOCKQUOTE dir=ltr 
style="PADDING-LEFT: 5px; MARGIN-LEFT: 5px; BORDER-LEFT: #0000ff 2px solid; MARGIN-RIGHT: 0px">
  <DIV class=OutlookMessageHeader dir=ltr align=left><FONT face=Tahoma 
  size=2>-----Original Message-----<BR><B>From:</B> Kristian Hermansen 
  [mailto:khermansen@ht-technology.com]<BR><B>Sent:</B> Wednesday, October 01, 
  2003 8:11 PM<BR><B>To:</B> Full Disclosure<BR><B>Subject:</B> 
  [Full-Disclosure] Google FILTERS searches for possible DMCA infringable 
  content!!!<BR><BR></FONT></DIV>
  <DIV><FONT face=Arial size=2>I don't know if you guys noticed this or not, but 
  recently Google has started FILTERING requests for information that may 
  violate the DMCA.&nbsp; This just started recently, but test it 
  yourself.&nbsp; Go to Google.com and try searching for "kazaa lite k++", which 
  is the enhanced version of the popular P2P client.&nbsp; If you notice, the 
  website will not show up in the lists.&nbsp; In fact, it seems that the site 
  that offered this client is now no longer online.&nbsp; What's REALLY SAD is 
  that Google admits to the filtering at the bottom of the page and gives an 
  explanation, along with some documentation.&nbsp; Here's what it 
  says:</FONT></DIV>
  <DIV><FONT face=Arial size=2></FONT>&nbsp;</DIV>
  <DIV><FONT face=Arial size=2><A 
  href="http://www.google.com/search?hl=en&amp;lr=&amp;ie=UTF-8&amp;oe=UTF-8&amp;q=kazaa+lite+k%2B%2B">http://www.google.com/search?hl=en&amp;lr=&amp;ie=UTF-8&amp;oe=UTF-8&amp;q=kazaa+lite+k%2B%2B</A></FONT></DIV>
  <DIV><FONT face=Arial size=2><EM><FONT size=3></FONT></EM></FONT>&nbsp;</DIV>
  <DIV><EM><STRONG>"In response to a complaint we received under the 
  </STRONG></EM><A href="http://www.google.com/dmca.html"><FONT 
  color=#551a8b><EM><STRONG>Digital Millennium Copyright 
  Act</STRONG></EM></FONT></A><EM><STRONG>, we have removed&nbsp;4 result(s) 
  from this page. If you wish, you may </STRONG></EM><A 
  href="http://www.chillingeffects.org/dmca512/notice.cgi?NoticeID=861"><FONT 
  color=#551a8b><EM><STRONG>read the DMCA 
  complaint</STRONG></EM></FONT></A><EM><STRONG> for these removed 
  results."</STRONG></EM></DIV>
  <DIV><EM><FONT face=Arial></FONT></EM>&nbsp;</DIV>
  <DIV><FONT face=Arial size=2>If you click on the second link, you can read the 
  complaint from Sharman Networks against Google.</FONT></DIV>
  <DIV><FONT face=Arial size=2></FONT>&nbsp;</DIV>
  <DIV><FONT face=Arial size=2><A 
  href="http://www.chillingeffects.org/dmca512/notice.cgi?NoticeID=861">http://www.chillingeffects.org/dmca512/notice.cgi?NoticeID=861</A>&nbsp;(text)</FONT></DIV>
  <DIV><FONT face=Arial size=2><A 
  href="http://www.chillingeffects.org/dmca512/notice.cgi?action=image_410">http://www.chillingeffects.org/dmca512/notice.cgi?action=image_410</A>&nbsp;(PDF)</FONT></DIV>
  <DIV><FONT face=Arial size=2></FONT>&nbsp;</DIV>
  <DIV><FONT face=Arial size=2>This is a sad day for us all.&nbsp; It seems that 
  Sharman Networks weren't happy enough with the profits they made on 
  advertising -&nbsp;a business that is run solely on the attraction that 
  customers&nbsp;can download digital content, which they may or may not own 
  legally.&nbsp; Now, why would they want to block this program so badly?&nbsp; 
  My guess...K++'s anonymous enhancements make it much too difficult to track 
  down&nbsp;piracy and since users would benefit from this, it is a danger to 
  their business.&nbsp; Also, they are probably making even more money on the 
  side by selling information about who is massively sharing MP3/VIDEO to the 
  RIAA and MPAA.&nbsp; BUT IRONICALLY THEY ARE USING THE F**KING DMCA TO HAVE 
  GOOGLE FILTER SEARCHES!!!&nbsp; If anything, the DMCA should be used against 
  THEM for making it easy for people to download illegal content.&nbsp; "Hey you 
  don't have the right to steal what I am currently stealing!!!"&nbsp; Reminds 
  me of Microsoft stealing from Apple.&nbsp; This is the most improper use of 
  the DMCA I have ever seen.&nbsp; What do you guys all think of 
  this?</FONT></DIV>
  <DIV><FONT face=Arial size=2></FONT>&nbsp;</DIV>
  <DIV><FONT face=Arial size=2>Kris Hermansen</FONT></DIV>
  <DIV><FONT face=Arial size=2>CEO&nbsp;- H&amp;T Technology 
  Solutions</FONT></DIV>
  <DIV><FONT face=Arial size=2></FONT>&nbsp;</DIV>
  <DIV><FONT face=Arial size=2>PS - Since Google won't allow you to find the new 
  K++ homepage, here it is:</FONT></DIV>
  <DIV><FONT face=Arial size=2><A 
  href="http://www.klitesite.com/">http://www.klitesite.com/</A></FONT></DIV></BLOCKQUOTE></BODY></HTML>