<!DOCTYPE HTML PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD HTML 4.0 Transitional//EN">
<HTML><HEAD>
<META http-equiv=Content-Type content="text/html; charset=iso-8859-1">
<META content="MSHTML 6.00.2800.1226" name=GENERATOR>
<STYLE></STYLE>
</HEAD>
<BODY bgColor=#ffffff>
<DIV><FONT face=Arial size=2>I don't know if you guys noticed this or not, but 
recently Google has started FILTERING requests for information that may violate 
the DMCA.&nbsp; This just started recently, but test it yourself.&nbsp; Go to 
Google.com and try searching for "kazaa lite k++", which is the enhanced version 
of the popular P2P client.&nbsp; If you notice, the website will not show up in 
the lists.&nbsp; In fact, it seems that the site that offered this client is now 
no longer online.&nbsp; What's REALLY SAD is that Google admits to the filtering 
at the bottom of the page and gives an explanation, along with some 
documentation.&nbsp; Here's what it says:</FONT></DIV>
<DIV><FONT face=Arial size=2></FONT>&nbsp;</DIV>
<DIV><FONT face=Arial size=2><A 
href="http://www.google.com/search?hl=en&amp;lr=&amp;ie=UTF-8&amp;oe=UTF-8&amp;q=kazaa+lite+k%2B%2B">http://www.google.com/search?hl=en&amp;lr=&amp;ie=UTF-8&amp;oe=UTF-8&amp;q=kazaa+lite+k%2B%2B</A></FONT></DIV>
<DIV><FONT face=Arial size=2><EM><FONT size=3></FONT></EM></FONT>&nbsp;</DIV>
<DIV><EM><STRONG>"In response to a complaint we received under the 
</STRONG></EM><A href="http://www.google.com/dmca.html"><FONT 
color=#551a8b><EM><STRONG>Digital Millennium Copyright 
Act</STRONG></EM></FONT></A><EM><STRONG>, we have removed&nbsp;4 result(s) from 
this page. If you wish, you may </STRONG></EM><A 
href="http://www.chillingeffects.org/dmca512/notice.cgi?NoticeID=861"><FONT 
color=#551a8b><EM><STRONG>read the DMCA 
complaint</STRONG></EM></FONT></A><EM><STRONG> for these removed 
results."</STRONG></EM></DIV>
<DIV><EM><FONT face=Arial></FONT></EM>&nbsp;</DIV>
<DIV><FONT face=Arial size=2>If you click on the second link, you can read the 
complaint from Sharman Networks against Google.</FONT></DIV>
<DIV><FONT face=Arial size=2></FONT>&nbsp;</DIV>
<DIV><FONT face=Arial size=2><A 
href="http://www.chillingeffects.org/dmca512/notice.cgi?NoticeID=861">http://www.chillingeffects.org/dmca512/notice.cgi?NoticeID=861</A>&nbsp;(text)</FONT></DIV>
<DIV><FONT face=Arial size=2><A 
href="http://www.chillingeffects.org/dmca512/notice.cgi?action=image_410">http://www.chillingeffects.org/dmca512/notice.cgi?action=image_410</A>&nbsp;(PDF)</FONT></DIV>
<DIV><FONT face=Arial size=2></FONT>&nbsp;</DIV>
<DIV><FONT face=Arial size=2>This is a sad day for us all.&nbsp; It seems that 
Sharman Networks weren't happy enough with the profits they made on advertising 
-&nbsp;a business that is run solely on the attraction that customers&nbsp;can 
download digital content, which they may or may not own legally.&nbsp; Now, why 
would they want to block this program so badly?&nbsp; My guess...K++'s anonymous 
enhancements make it much too difficult to track down&nbsp;piracy and since 
users would benefit from this, it is a danger to their business.&nbsp; Also, 
they are probably making even more money on the side by selling information 
about who is massively sharing MP3/VIDEO to the RIAA and MPAA.&nbsp; BUT 
IRONICALLY THEY ARE USING THE F**KING DMCA TO HAVE GOOGLE FILTER 
SEARCHES!!!&nbsp; If anything, the DMCA should be used against THEM for making 
it easy for people to download illegal content.&nbsp; "Hey you don't have the 
right to steal what I am currently stealing!!!"&nbsp; Reminds me of Microsoft 
stealing from Apple.&nbsp; This is the most improper use of the DMCA I have ever 
seen.&nbsp; What do you guys all think of this?</FONT></DIV>
<DIV><FONT face=Arial size=2></FONT>&nbsp;</DIV>
<DIV><FONT face=Arial size=2>Kris Hermansen</FONT></DIV>
<DIV><FONT face=Arial size=2>CEO&nbsp;- H&amp;T Technology 
Solutions</FONT></DIV>
<DIV><FONT face=Arial size=2></FONT>&nbsp;</DIV>
<DIV><FONT face=Arial size=2>PS - Since Google won't allow you to find the new 
K++ homepage, here it is:</FONT></DIV>
<DIV><FONT face=Arial size=2><A 
href="http://www.klitesite.com/">http://www.klitesite.com/</A></FONT></DIV></BODY></HTML>