<br>This surprises you? You and everyone else at this point should know all these &quot;security&quot; companies that have been spawned the last few years are all fucking scumbags, who would sell their own mothers organs after a shot to the head for a coupon to get a free ice cream sundae. They are soulless money grubbing corporations feeding off&nbsp; executives fear someone is going to steal all the money they worked hard to steal from consumers. 
<br><br><br><br><br><br><br><br><div><span class="gmail_quote">On 6/6/07, <b class="gmail_sendername">H D Moore</b> &lt;<a href="mailto:fdlist@digitaloffense.net">fdlist@digitaloffense.net</a>&gt; wrote:</span><blockquote class="gmail_quote" style="border-left: 1px solid rgb(204, 204, 204); margin: 0pt 0pt 0pt 0.8ex; padding-left: 1ex;">
Hello,<br><br>Some friends and I were putting together a contact list for the folks<br>attending the Defcon conference this year in Las Vegas. My friend sent<br>out an email, with a large CC list, asking people to respond if they
<br>planned on attending. The email was addressed to quite a few people, with<br>one of them being David Maynor. Unfortunately, his old SecureWorks<br>address was used, not his current address with ErrattaSec.<br><br>Since one of the messages sent to the group contained a URL to our phone
<br>numbers and names, I got paranoid and decided to determine whether<br>SecureWorks was still reading email addressed to David Maynor. I sent an<br>email to David&#39;s old SecureWorks address, with a subject line promising
<br>0-day, and a link to a non-public URL on the <a href="http://metasploit.com">metasploit.com</a> web server<br>(via SSL). Twelve hours later, someone from a Comcast cable modem in<br>Atlanta tried to access the link, and this someone was (confirmed) not
<br>David. SecureWorks is based in Atlanta. All times are CDT.<br><br>I sent the following message last night at 7:02pm.<br><br>---<br>From: H D Moore &lt;hdm[at]metasploit.com&gt;<br>To: David Maynor &lt;dmaynor[at]secureworks.com&gt;
<br>Subject: Zero-day I promised<br>Date: Tue, 5 Jun 2007 19:02:11 -0500<br>User-Agent: KMail/1.9.3<br>MIME-Version: 1.0<br>Content-Type: text/plain;<br>&nbsp;&nbsp;charset=&quot;us-ascii&quot;<br>Content-Transfer-Encoding: 7bit<br>
Content-Disposition: inline<br>Message-Id: &lt;200706051902.11544.hdm[at]metasploit.com&gt;<br>Status: RO<br>X-Status: RSC<br><br><a href="https://metasploit.com/maynor.tar.gz">https://metasploit.com/maynor.tar.gz</a><br>
---<br><br>Approximately 12 hours later, the following request shows up in my Apache<br>log file. It looks like someone at SecureWorks is reading email addressed<br>to David and tried to access the link I sent:<br><br><a href="http://71.59.27.152">
71.59.27.152</a> - - [05/Jun/2007:19:16:42 -0500] &quot;GET /maynor.tar.gz<br>HTTP/1.1&quot; 404 211 &quot;-&quot; &quot;Mozilla/5.0 (Macintosh; U; PPC Mac OS X; en)<br>AppleWebKit/419 (KHTML, like Gecko) Safari/419.3&quot;
<br><br>This address resolves to:<br><a href="http://c-71-59-27-152.hsd1.ga.comcast.net">c-71-59-27-152.hsd1.ga.comcast.net</a><br><br>The whois information is just the standard Comcast block boilerplate.<br><br>---<br><br>
Is this illegal? I could see reading email addressed to him being within<br>the bounds of the law, but it seems like trying to download the &quot;0day&quot;<br>link crosses the line.<br><br>Illegal or not, this is still pretty damned shady.
<br><br>Bastards.<br><br>-HD<br><br>_______________________________________________<br>Full-Disclosure - We believe in it.<br>Charter: <a href="http://lists.grok.org.uk/full-disclosure-charter.html">http://lists.grok.org.uk/full-disclosure-charter.html
</a><br>Hosted and sponsored by Secunia - <a href="http://secunia.com/">http://secunia.com/</a><br></blockquote></div><br><br clear="all"><br>-- <br>&quot;If you see me laughing, you better have backups&quot;<br><br>