cool,<br>HD Moore started a thread,<br><br>yeah, lets reply the more we can!!!<br><br><br><div><span class="gmail_quote">On 6/6/07, <b class="gmail_sendername">Kradorex Xeron</b> &lt;<a href="mailto:admin@digibase.ca">admin@digibase.ca
</a>&gt; wrote:</span><blockquote class="gmail_quote" style="border-left: 1px solid rgb(204, 204, 204); margin: 0pt 0pt 0pt 0.8ex; padding-left: 1ex;">On Wednesday 06 June 2007 09:47, H D Moore wrote:<br>&gt; Hello,<br>&gt;
<br>&gt; Some friends and I were putting together a contact list for the folks<br>&gt; attending the Defcon conference this year in Las Vegas. My friend sent<br>&gt; out an email, with a large CC list, asking people to respond if they
<br>&gt; planned on attending. The email was addressed to quite a few people, with<br>&gt; one of them being David Maynor. Unfortunately, his old SecureWorks<br>&gt; address was used, not his current address with ErrattaSec.
<br>&gt;<br>&gt; Since one of the messages sent to the group contained a URL to our phone<br>&gt; numbers and names, I got paranoid and decided to determine whether<br>&gt; SecureWorks was still reading email addressed to David Maynor. I sent an
<br>&gt; email to David&#39;s old SecureWorks address, with a subject line promising<br>&gt; 0-day, and a link to a non-public URL on the <a href="http://metasploit.com">metasploit.com</a> web server<br>&gt; (via SSL). Twelve hours later, someone from a Comcast cable modem in
<br>&gt; Atlanta tried to access the link, and this someone was (confirmed) not<br>&gt; David. SecureWorks is based in Atlanta. All times are CDT.<br>&gt;<br>&gt; I sent the following message last night at 7:02pm.<br>&gt;
<br>&gt; ---<br>&gt; From: H D Moore &lt;hdm[at]metasploit.com&gt;<br>&gt; To: David Maynor &lt;dmaynor[at]secureworks.com&gt;<br>&gt; Subject: Zero-day I promised<br>&gt; Date: Tue, 5 Jun 2007 19:02:11 -0500<br>&gt; User-Agent: KMail/1.9.3
<br>&gt; MIME-Version: 1.0<br>&gt; Content-Type: text/plain;<br>&gt;&nbsp;&nbsp; charset=&quot;us-ascii&quot;<br>&gt; Content-Transfer-Encoding: 7bit<br>&gt; Content-Disposition: inline<br>&gt; Message-Id: &lt;200706051902.11544.hdm
[at]metasploit.com&gt;<br>&gt; Status: RO<br>&gt; X-Status: RSC<br>&gt;<br>&gt; <a href="https://metasploit.com/maynor.tar.gz">https://metasploit.com/maynor.tar.gz</a><br>&gt; ---<br>&gt;<br>&gt; Approximately 12 hours later, the following request shows up in my Apache
<br>&gt; log file. It looks like someone at SecureWorks is reading email addressed<br>&gt; to David and tried to access the link I sent:<br>&gt;<br>&gt; <a href="http://71.59.27.152">71.59.27.152</a> - - [05/Jun/2007:19:16:42 -0500] &quot;GET /maynor.tar.gz
<br>&gt; HTTP/1.1&quot; 404 211 &quot;-&quot; &quot;Mozilla/5.0 (Macintosh; U; PPC Mac OS X; en)<br>&gt; AppleWebKit/419 (KHTML, like Gecko) Safari/419.3&quot;<br>&gt;<br>&gt; This address resolves to:<br>&gt; <a href="http://c-71-59-27-152.hsd1.ga.comcast.net">
c-71-59-27-152.hsd1.ga.comcast.net</a><br>&gt;<br>&gt; The whois information is just the standard Comcast block boilerplate.<br>&gt;<br>&gt; ---<br>&gt;<br>&gt; Is this illegal? I could see reading email addressed to him being within
<br>&gt; the bounds of the law, but it seems like trying to download the &quot;0day&quot;<br>&gt; link crosses the line.<br>&gt;<br>&gt; Illegal or not, this is still pretty damned shady.<br>&gt;<br>&gt; Bastards.<br>&gt;
<br>&gt; -HD<br><br>I will seldom touch on the legal side but I have a possible scenario:<br><br>-- If David is no longer at that address, it could be said that his mail<br>account was taken down and the mail sent ended up in a possible &quot;catch all&quot;
<br>box, perhaps someone at SecureWorks was looking through the said catchall<br>mailbox for any interesting mail sent to the <a href="http://secureworks.com">secureworks.com</a> domain (i.e. to<br>old employees) - It&#39;s quite common for companies and organizations to monitor
<br>former employee mailboxes in the event anyone that doesn&#39;t have any new<br>contact information to be able to still get somewhere with the old address.<br>And them being a security organization, maybe they proceeded to investigate
<br>the link sent.<br><br><br>&gt;<br>&gt; _______________________________________________<br>&gt; Full-Disclosure - We believe in it.<br>&gt; Charter: <a href="http://lists.grok.org.uk/full-disclosure-charter.html">http://lists.grok.org.uk/full-disclosure-charter.html
</a><br>&gt; Hosted and sponsored by Secunia - <a href="http://secunia.com/">http://secunia.com/</a><br><br>_______________________________________________<br>Full-Disclosure - We believe in it.<br>Charter: <a href="http://lists.grok.org.uk/full-disclosure-charter.html">
http://lists.grok.org.uk/full-disclosure-charter.html</a><br>Hosted and sponsored by Secunia - <a href="http://secunia.com/">http://secunia.com/</a><br></blockquote></div><br><br clear="all"><br>-- <br>Marcio Barbado, Jr.
<br>==============<br>==============